NANOAFNETs chairman  has been invited  to be a selection member  of the jury of both  the  international  and   the  Sub-Sahara  l’Oreal-UNESCO  Women  in  Science Award Committees.  Likewise, he  was  involved  in  the  Obasanjo   African Award  in Sciences, Technology & Innovation selection committee as well.   This latter is handled by the African Academy of Sciences.

●  NANOAFNETchairman   has  been  elected  member  of  the  Islamic  Academy of Sciences (IAS).  He has been officially  elected during  the 18th annual  meeting of the IAS held in Doha-Qatar.

NANOAFNET senior member  from  Obafemi  Awolowo University,  Ife  Ile-Nigeria, Dr.  Esther  Ikhuoria, has been awarded a Fullbright fellowship  to conduct a research project at the Oregon State  University  in the USA  following  a sojourn at the network’s headquarters in South Africa  supported by TWAS-Trieste.

NANOAFNET Ethiopian junior fellow,   Ms. Zebib Y Nuru ,  currently  registered at the University of Western Cape-South Africa  while conducting  her research at the network headquarters iThemba LABS with  a partial  OWSDW fellowship  program,  has been awarded a  Lindau fellowship  to  attend  the  upcoming   62nd   Lindau Nobel  laureate meeting.  From the 1st  to 6th    July,  2012, more than  25 Nobel Laureates  and  550 young researchers from  all over the world  will meet in Lindau-Germany to exchange ideas, bdiscuss projects and build international networks. The 62nd  Nobel Lindau Meeting will be dedicated to physics.

●  NANOAFNET junior  fellow,    Ms.  Valencia  Jacob,  conducting  a  nanotechnology research   PhD   project   on  nanofibers   by   electrospinning   for   medical   and   textile applications  was  granted  a  l’Oreal-UNESCO  Award for  Women in  Science  in  the Sub-Sahara region category. This award  recognizes her outstanding research outputs; she has published more that 6 ISI  peer review contributions during her PhD.

NANOAFNET Rwandese  junior fellow,   Ms. Claire Ineza,  from NUR-Rwanda has been  awarded an  OWSDW “TWOWS”  fellowship  for  postgraduate studies.  While she is conducting  her research project at iThemba LAB, she is registered  at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology-Western Cape.

●  NANOAFNET junior  fellows;  Mr.  Itani  Madiba  and  Mr.  Nangamso   Nyangiwe, have been awarded the SANHARP best poster and best presentation  awards  during the 3rd SANHARP national  conference (SANHARP:South African Nuclear Human Resources Program).

●  NANOAFNET  is  currently   represented   officially   in  the  board   of  the  African Materials  Research  Society  following  the AMRS 6th  international conference,  held  in Victoria  falls-Zimbabwe, (Dec.2011). The network’s  chairman, vice-chairman and the East Africa  regional contact point have been elected in the AMRS board with the Egypt Contact Point Prof. Mona Marei as the President.

●  NANOAFNET  has  received  an  additional African  recognition.  Members  of  the network  will be synergizing with  the Nelson Mandela  African University  of Science & Technology (Abuja-Nigeria) through intensive nano-photonics and materials courses.

NANOAFNET junior members: Dr. Bala Diop Ngom and Mr. Saleh  Khamlich  from Senegal  and  Morocco respectively  have  been  awarded financial  support  to attend  1 month  and  2  weeks  training   at  the  Abdus   Salam   ICTP  in  Trieste-Italy  in  lasers spectroscopy and materials for solar energy applications.

NANOAFNET junior member: Mr. Mthuthuzeli Zamxaka has been invited  for a 2 months   visit  at  ELETTRA  to  be  trained   in  various  synchrotron   surface-interface techniques.





Copyright © NANOAFNET 2012. All Rights Reserved.